6 Ways to Happily Dress for Success

6 Ways to Happily Dress for Success

Over the years I have received comments from multiple people asking me why I dress the way I do. Apparently it is strange for a teenager in the middle of the Florida summer to be dressed up in something fancier than a t-shirt and pair of shorts. They don’t understand how I could possibly be comfortable wearing anything different.

In reality, dressing the way I do makes me much happier than simply wearing a t-shirt and shorts every day (though, I do that plenty of days too). Why? Because I dress for success. And not just any success. My success.

What do I mean by my success? Quite simply, I mean I want to be happy with what I wear and feel confidant and successful on my own. After all, when you feel more confidant, success is a smaller jump away. It’s hard to learn how to dress for success and be happy with it, but easier than you’d think once you get the hang of it.

1.) Wear what you want to wear.

You’d think that this would be a no-brainer, right? But be honest with yourself: How many times have you said no to something you really wanted to wear because of some stupid excuse you came up with? “X person may not like it. . . What if it’s too flashy? Will I look like an idiot?”

Sometimes the answer to these questions is yes. But sometimes you’re just duping yourself.

2.) Don’t wear it if it makes you uncomfortable.

The above being said? Don’t wear it if it makes you uncomfortable at all. Looking uncomfortable is very obvious and won’t get you very far with others or yourself. If it’s something you really want to wear, slowly build up your confidence–take things one step at a time.

3.) Dress towards what you want to be.

First off, I’m not telling you to dress up in a firefighter costume if you want to be a firefighter. Dress towards what you want to be personally. Maybe you want to be more confidant? Perhaps you want to be sophisticated. Dress towards what you want to be. Not only will it help you create the image, but you’ll feel better about yourself.

4.) Do dress appropriately.

I think that this is pretty self explanatory, but don’t dress inappropriately. While I’m sure that some bosses will let you come to work like you walked out of Legally Blonde, most will consider this to be inappropriate. Do try to follow the above suggestions, but tone it down to fit your situation if it won’t be appropriate.

5.) Be confidant and wear a smile!

Nothing screams success like confidence (don’t be fake about it) and going places like a smile. When you’re confident and pleasant looking, you make everyone around you more confident about you. It’s really shocking when I go places. I end up getting so many comments on how I smile, it really makes me wonder just how many people skulk about with sullen faces.

6.) Be happy.

Overall, just be happy with yourself and the way that you dress. Once you’ve found what makes you happy, you’ve got the battle won.

This post was linked up on Fashion Friday Link Up at Elegantly Fashionable.

How do you dress for success? Let me know in the comments below!

This entry was posted in Fashion, Lifestyle, Style and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 6 Ways to Happily Dress for Success

  1. skinnysafari says:

    This is such a great list! I totally agree. I’ve been told I don’t dress my age either. But dressing for success is so important these days. Great blog!

    -G
    http://www.palmtreesandpellegrino.wordpress.com

  2. Hey hi I am debonita from Elegantly Fashionable. Thanks for adding your link to the linkup. Love your blog post, it’s very informative x

  3. Thanks for the tips. I really need to stop wearing things that make me feel uncomfortable as I find it just makes me feel paranoid all day!

    Corinne x
    http://www.skinnedcartree.com

  4. Becky says:

    I love these it’s very true, I dress a bit too ‘overdressed’ for toddler groups sometimes but it makes me feel good which is what matters!

    • kelseygulick says:

      Exactly! Why wear something that doesn’t make you feel good? Unless it’s inappropriate for the situation,I say where what makes you feel good because it will only make you happier.

  5. Rebecca Mae says:

    Hey, look I’m finally sitting down to have a read of your blog! I really enjoyed this post, I should probably learn to follow these tips x

  6. I totally agree! You should wear what makes you happy 🙂 x

  7. salenazarali says:

    Love your posts!

Comment? (I do reply!)

