Anxiety by Ladyhawke Review

Anxiety Ladyhawke

Artist: Ladyhawke
Album: Anxiety
Genre: Alternative Rock
Label: Modular Recordings

I can’t remember when exactly I found Ladyhawke, but they’re a band I keep going back to over and over. Especially for their album, Anxiety. It’s a fun album that’s a little different than their others. Its vintage alternative sound just calls to me.

My Opinion

Ladyhawke really captures the reminiscent vintage sound of this era. While their genre is alternative rock, I tend to think of them as in that in-between genre of alternative pop-rock, or something like that. The sound is fun and different. The lyrics are a definite change from the normal too. Why?

In my research, the songs in Anxiety are related to Asperger’s Syndrome, as the singer had just been diagnosed with it before writing the album. I can only assume that this is the reason the lyrics are so different and unique. I love so many of the songs that are on this album. It’s hard to choose exact favorites. I’ve been listening through the album this morning to try and decide which are my favorites, but I can’t make up my mind. They’re all so good. However, I really enjoy Vanity because it was one of the first songs by them that I heard. And Black White & Blue. From there it’s probably a toss up between Girl Like You and Sunday Drive.

I love the interesting, monochrome album art, too. It really fits the title Anxiety. Her face is made up of many faces (voices?). I just think it’s really unique and perfect for the album.

Favorite Lyric

Black White & Blue Ladyhawke

This line here is the first line from Black White & Blue. I love how true this lyric is. Time really isn’t easy when you’re alone. Especially when you think about it from an anxious standpoint.

Interested in checking out this awesome album? You can find Ladyhawke on YouTube or buy Anxiety on Amazon for $11.65.

Have you heard Ladyhawke before? What do you think about mental conditions and lyrics being mixed? Tell me in the comments below!

This entry was posted in Music, Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Anxiety by Ladyhawke Review

  1. Eden Rose says:

    I’ve never heard of this band before, but they sound really good! I love this review!
    Eden xx
    edenroses.blogspot.co.uk

    • kelseygulick says:

      Thanks! They really are good! Your blog is really awesome looking, by the way! I review books too, just on a different site. I can see we have some similar music taste!

  2. I love the idea of mental conditions being put into music, I think they can often create some really beautiful, raw imagery. I’ll have to check this out!

    Corinne x
    http://www.skinnedcartree.com

Comment? (I do reply!)

