Day of the Tiger by Yumi And The System

Yumi And The System

Artist: Yumi And The Stystem
Single: Day of the Tiger
Genre: Rock
Record Producer: Lincoln Parish

As a big fan of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, I was very excited when Yumi And The System asked if I would review their single, Day of the Tiger. They have a sound that strikes me as very similar to the Yeah Yeah Yeah’s, though Amy’s voice is a bit deeper than Karen’s (Yeah Yeah Yeahs). It adds a dry, dramatic depth to the music.

My Opinion

I’m completely pumped for the release of their new album, Wonders of Origin, which comes out today, (Sept. 9, 2014). While I obviously have not yet heard the full length album, I hope to spend some time listening to it and reviewing it in the not-too-far future.

Day of the Tiger is a very punk rock tune with the perfect amount of dry angst and drama. As I said previously, they have a sound that is very similar to the sound of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. If that style of punk is up your alley, Day of the Tiger is worth checking out.

And the album art for Wonders of Origin? I love lengthy exposure profiles. While I think that the album art for the single (which I struggled to find a downloadable copy of) had a much more punk look to it, I have to say that I find this album art very attractive and dreamy.

Favorite Lyric

Day of the Tiger

It was really hard to pick a favorite lyric from this song, but I had to settle on this in the end. Especially as it showcases just a bit of the angsty, punk sound that they have.

Want to check out this amazing band? You can find Yumi And The System on YouTube and/or buy Wonders of Origin on iTunes for $9.90.

What have you been listening to lately? Have you heard of Yumi And The System? Let me know in the comments below!

This entry was posted in Music, Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment? (I do reply!)

